The Unanswerable Riddle

What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object? You discover who you are, that’s what.

My identity has been confirmed. I don’t second guess. I don’t wonder what my purpose is or whether I’m measuring up. I know who I am.

That knowledge has made all the difference. In my health. In my happiness. In my being. Positives propel me and negatives don’t move me. I have learned to be unstoppable and immovable by becoming me.

It’s not arrogance or an exclusive ability. It’s the result of developing a creed. A simple principle for living based on my personal experience and history that puts those conflicting forces in harmony.

Have a look at mine:

  1. True power comes in the form of little decisions.

My kitchen is clean because I choose to wash the dishes, wipe the counter and mop the floor. The results are cleanliness and health.

I am a writer because I choose to write something every day. The results are essays, short stories, novels and now, a blog.

Small accomplishments do one thing. Grow.

  1. Understanding motivations.

I have learned the difference between would, could and should. Living at peace with God, the world and myself comes from balancing my will (would), my ability (could), and my authority (should). I want to do a lot of things. I can do some things. But I am only going to do that which is mine to do.

  1. Knowledge and/or relationship is not license.

Having understanding or desire is not the same thing as having authority. If I don’t give you authority…you don’t have authority. I am under no obligation to surrender to your judgment, regardless of who you are or what you know.

  1. Do my thing, but only my thing.
  • I will not impose my will on others. And I will not allow others to impose their will upon me.
  • I will not conform to imagery or mechanisms.
  • Fear and insecurity are poor reasons not to act. It is not a sin to make a mistake.
  • I will NOT do something that I am positive will not work, regardless of appearances or expectations.
  • My time is precious. I cannot spend it superficially. Neither can I allow anyone to spend it for me.
  1. I am not subject to approval.
  • I will not judge myself. I will not prove myself. I will not apologize for who I am.
  • I will not focus on shortcomings –mine or anyone else’s. It’s tedious.
  • I will not pacify or please people. Pleasing people gives them control over my happiness. I will control my happiness.
  •  I will appreciate all that I am given, but I will not be manipulated by the promise of attention.

And there, you have it.  Don’t like something I say…see number 5.  Why do I do things that may seem crazy?  Check out number 4.

For me, it was five items. It may be two or twelve or twenty for you. But filtering decisions through personal expectations removes the weight and imbalance of trying to live up to a standard that was never meant to be yours.

Having a creed doesn’t grant you a perfect life where nothing goes wrong and you never have to sacrifice or compromise. But, it does give you the freedom to be yourself at all times. To think and act and say and do those things that will get you where you’re going and make you, you.

Knowing where you stand with you creates balance. Every decision clearly becomes part of the stop or part of the go, depending upon what needs to happen. You can say, ‘no’ without remorse because you have a standard. When you live by it, you become an immovable object. When it’s time for a ‘yes’ in your life, you will be unhindered. Because you made the rules you live by and in doing so, you become an unstoppable force.

When you are an unstoppable force and an immovable object, your life is no longer an unanswerable riddle.  Your creed will tell you –and the world- exactly who you are.

Leave a Reply

